6 MAIN MYSTERIES OF KALININGRAD

The moment you step off the plane at Khrabrovo Airport or touch the platform of a railway station with the sole of your shoe, it becomes clear: Kaliningrad is a city with a thousand "why" and "how". In this article, we have collected his main riddles. It is not necessary to guess them, but it is important to know them!

UNDERGROUND CITY

According to one of the legends, another one is hidden under our city-the underground Koenigsberg, consisting of buildings of the German time. Judgments about its existence are not unfounded: in Koenigsberg, they really built a lot of bomb shelters, bunkers, storm wells and sewers — if you combine them all together, you can settle a single commune. They say that the Soviet settlers saw connected basements, and the length of those on the Kneiphofisch Landgasse — one of the main streets of Konigsberg — is a couple of kilometers. And another piece of interesting information — under the Hansa-Platz (the square opposite KSTU) there is a railway tunnel with underground passages, through which prisoners were taken to the prison from the Land Court, located in the building of the current university.

Of course, I would very much like to go down to the basement of one of the residential buildings of the last century and go out in a few hours somewhere on the coast (or better yet, immediately in Berlin a day later, having passed the coronavirus restrictions and closed borders). But, most likely, this is not possible. Although who knows, maybe the local diggers have not yet reached such underground schemes and passages...

THE MISSING AMBER MASTERPIECE

Who is not looking for the Amber Room, stolen by the Fuhrer's soldiers from the Catherine Palace and delivered to the Konigsberg Castle in 1941. The story of her disappearance dates back to 1945, during the storming of Konigsberg. It is known that the castle, in the Order Hall of which the panels and other components of the Amber Room were stored, burned on April 11. But the version of "what to guess — the room simply burned down" was refuted due to the absence of molten glass and packaging material among the burned objects. The second version is that the room was very well hidden in the vicinity of Konigsberg. It is said that there are many witnesses to how the boxes with amber panels were transported from the castle.

There are also versions related to the death of the object of art during the retreat of German soldiers from February 19 to April 5, 1945 - during transportation by land, rail or water transport, as well as the burial of the room along the way. And someone is looking for it on another continent altogether — in America, where it got-and there are also several versions-by mistake, lend-lease or in the course of a deal with an unknown billionaire. We believe that everyone who knows this story must necessarily choose a favorite version of it. Well, or start your own investigation, if all the routes of the Kaliningrad region have already been investigated.

YOU CAN'T LEAVE IT DESTROYED

Since we are talking about the Konigsberg castle... The main issue related to it, which, however, is usually considered rhetorical, for many is the decision to destroy it and then replace it with another object. Founded in 1255 by the Czech king Ottokar II Przemysl, the castle was transformed, survived bombardments and fires, but managed to preserve the main towers and walls. Alien to the grieving heart of the Soviet rulers, the architecture was an eyesore and was blown up in 1967 (why this is our common pain can be understood by looking at the photos of the historical heritage).
Instead of the castle, the House of Soviets grew up — a monumental building, which was planned to house the administration of the Kaliningrad Regional Committee of the CPSU and the regional Executive Committee. But the building remained the main long-term construction of the city, and also divided the residents and guests of Kaliningrad into two irreconcilable camps: someone can not ask him to destroy the castle and considers it a freak, which, by all means, must be demolished. Someone, on the contrary, is convinced that the House of Soviets is the most important symbol of the mood of that era and a unique architectural monument that needs to be preserved. To destroy or leave is a mystery and a serious challenge for everyone who has been in power for the last eight decades. And now, the year 2020 has added new adjustments to the history of the building: The House of Soviets is usually dismantled to the ground. In the meantime, you can still take a picture of it in its usual form, at the same time visiting the ruins of its predecessor, the Koenigsberg Castle.

WAS THERE A KANT?

The House of Soviets is one of the main symbols of the city, just a stone's throw from it to another: the Cathedral, near the walls of which the remains of the great philosopher Immanuel Kant rest. Or are they not resting? This is a question that torments the minds of Kaliningrad residents no less than the "Criticism of pure reason". All because of the fact that at first the thinker was buried in the common crypt of university professors, then, eighty years later, they decided to extract his ashes, but at the supposed place they found the remains of a completely different person. In the end, according to the commission, Kant was found and buried separately. But there are also those who do not believe this — there was too much fuss around the process of the philosopher's repose. What are you betting on?

KÖNIGSBERGER BRÜCKENPROBLEM

Surely, when you visited Kant's ashes, you were transported to the island not by air, but by one of its bridges. In them lies another mystery. Or rather, it is a mathematical problem — how can you walk on all seven bridges of Koenigsberg without walking on any of them twice? No one could prove or disprove the possibility of such a route. So that the descendants would not break their brains and could just enjoy a walk through the picturesque historical center, the mathematician Leonhard Euler in 1736 proved the impossibility of the problem and published the proof in the scientific journal of the St. Petersburg Academy of Sciences. By the way, there is a legend that Kaiser Wilhelm II in 1905 ordered the construction of an additional Imperial bridge, because he wanted to solve the puzzle. On the pillars of the eighth bridge now stands the Jubilee Bridge. And we can contemplate the task on the walls of one of the buildings of the Fish Village.

BABANGIDA

To dilute the traditional list of the main mysteries of Kaliningrad, let's turn to the person of the rapper Babangid, a famous and at the same time one of the most secretive performers. And let's agree on the shore-let's omit the assessment of the lyrics and creativity, the object of our interest in this case is the mystery of his person. What do we know about Babangida? Yes, in general, except for the first and last name, date and place of birth-Kaliningrad, nothing. Why is it interesting to us? Because, while maintaining his anonymity, Alexander Bakulin shone brightly in the underground culture: 8 times he was nominated for Hip-Hop.Ru Awards (an authoritative Internet resource at that time) and 4 times won in the nominations, spun with a clip on the TV channel A-One, actively participated and won in Internet battles and became a participant in one of the main intrigues in the correspondence confrontation with the rapper Oxxxymiron. Those who consider it an honor to shake the performer's hand, dream of going on the trail of Babangida. The opponent of show business likes to play hide-and-seek, but who knows, maybe he will celebrate his anniversary — 40 years — on his native lands, and there is every reason to believe that you will somehow cross his eyes, the city is small.

YOU MIGHT FIND THIS INTERESTING...

Click to order
Your order
Total: 
Name *
Email *
Phone *
Delivery *
Delivery Address
it is filled in only when choosing a delivery within the city limits of Kaliningrad
Promo code
By clicking 'Place an order', you agree to the Privacy Policy and give your consent to personal data processing.

6 ГЛАВНЫХ ЗАГАДОК КАЛИНИНГРАДА

Уже в тот момент, когда вы только сходите с трапа самолёта в аэропорту Храброво или касаетесь подошвой своего ботинка платформы железнодорожной станции, становится понятно: Калининград — город с тысячей «почему» и «как». В этом материале мы собрали главные его загадки. Отгадывать их не обязательно, но знать — важно!

ПОДЗЕМНЫЙ ГОРОД

Согласно одной из легенд, под нашим городом спрятан ещё один — подземный Кёнигсберг, состоящий из сооружений немецкого времени. Суждения о его существовании небезосновательны: в Кёнигсберге действительно строили массу бомбоубежищ, бункеров, ливневых колодцев и коллекторов — если объединить их все вместе, можно расселить ни одну коммуну. Говорят, советские переселенцы видели соединённые между собой подвалы, а протяжённость тех, что на Кнайпхофише Ландгассе — одной из главных улиц Кёнигсберга, — составляет пару километров. И ещё порция занятной информации — под Ганза-плац (площадь напротив КГТУ) имеется ж/д тоннель с подземными ходами, по которым заключённых доставляли в тюрьму из Земельного суда, располагавшегося в здании нынешнего университета.

Конечно, очень хотелось бы спуститься в подвал одного из жилых домов прошлого столетия и выйти через несколько часов где-нибудь на побережье (а лучше сразу в Берлине спустя сутки, миновав коронавирусные ограничения и закрытые границы). Но, скорее всего, это невозможно. Хотя кто знает, может местные диггеры пока не добрались до подобных подземных схем и ходов...

ПРОПАВШИЙ ЯНТАРНЫЙ ШЕДЕВР

Кто только не ищет Янтарную комнату, выкраденную солдатами фюрера из Екатерининского дворца и доставленную в Кёнигсбергский замок в 1941-м. История её исчезновения берёт начало в 1945-м, во время штурма Кёнигсберга. Известно, что замок, в Орденском зале которого хранились панели и другие составляющие Янтарной комнаты, горел 11 апреля. Но версия «чего гадать — комната просто напросто сгорела» была опровергнута из-за отсутствия среди сгоревших объектов расплавленного стекла и упаковочного материала. Вторая версия — комнату кто-то очень хорошо запрятал в окрестностях Кёнигсберга. Говорят, что есть немало свидетелей того, как ящики с янтарными панелями перевозились из замка.

Также есть версии, связанные с гибелью объекта искусства во время отступления немецких солдат период с 19 февраля по 5 апреля 1945 года — при перевозке наземным, железнодорожным или водным транспортом, а также захоронением комнаты по пути. А кто-то ищет её и вовсе на другом континенте — в Америке, куда она попала — и тут тоже несколько версий — по ошибке, ленд-лизу или в ходе сделки с неизвестным миллиардером. Мы считаем, каждому, кто знает эту историю, в обязательном порядке нужно выбрать для себя фаворитный её вариант. Ну или начать собственное расследование, если все маршруты калининградской области уже исследованы.


РАЗРУШИТЬ НЕЛЬЗЯ ОСТАВИТЬ

Раз уж мы заговорили о Кёнигсбергском замке… Главным связанным с ним вопросом, который, однако, принято считать риторическим, для многих является решение по его уничтожению и последующей замене другим объектом. Заложенный в 1255 году чешским королём Оттокаром II Пржемыслом, замок трансформировался, переживал бомбардировки и пожары, но сумел сохранить главные башни и стены. Чуждая скорбящему сердцу советских правителей архитектура мозолила глаз и была взорвана в 1967 году (почему это — наша общая боль, можно понять, глядя на фотографии исторического наследия).

Вместо замка вырос Дом Советов — монументальное строение, в котором планировала разместиться администрация Калининградского обкома КПСС и облисполкома. Но здание осталось главным долгостроем города, а также разделило жителей и гостей Калининграда на два непримиримых лагеря: кто-то не может просить ему гибель замка и считает уродцем, которого, непременно, нужно снести. Кто-то наоборот, убеждён, что Дом Советов — это важнейший символ настроений той эпохи и уникальный памятник архитектуры, который необходимо сохранить. Разрушить или оставить — загадка и серьёзный вызов для каждого, кто оказывался у власти последние восемь десятков лет. И вот, 2020-й вписал в историю здания новые коррективы: Дом Советов принято разобрать до основания. А пока его ещё можно сфотографировать на память в привычном виде, заодно осмотрев руины предшественника, Кёнигсбергского замка.

А БЫЛ ЛИ КАНТ?

Дом Советов — один из главных символов города, от него рукой подать до другого: Кафедрального собора, у стен которого покоятся останки великого философа Иммануила Канта. Или не покоятся? Это вопрос, терзающий умы калининградцев не меньше, чем «Критика чистого разума». Всё из-за того что сначала мыслитель был захоронен в общем склепе профессоров университета, затем, спустя восемьдесят лет, его прах решили извлечь, но на предполагаемом месте обнаружили останки совсем другого человека. В конце-концов, по словам комиссии, Кант был найден и захоронен отдельно. Но находятся и те, кто этому не верит — слишком много суеты было вокруг процесса упокоения философа. На что ставите?



KÖNIGSBERGER BRÜCKENPROBLEM

Наверняка, навещая прах Канта, на остров вы перенеслись не по воздуху, а по одному из его мостов. В них кроется ещё одна загадка. Вернее будет сказать, это математическая задача — как можно пройти по всем семи мостам Кёнигсберга, не проходя ни по одному из них дважды? Доказать или опровергнуть возможность такого маршрута никто не мог. Чтобы потомки не ломали мозг и могли просто насладиться прогулкой по живописному историческому центру, математик Леонард Эйлер в 1736 году доказал невозможность задачи и опубликовал доказательство в научном журнале Петербургской академии наук. Кстати, есть легенда, что кайзер Вильгельм II в 1905 году приказал построить дополнительный Императорский мост, поскольку хотел разрешить головоломку. На опорах восьмого моста сейчас стоит Юбилейный мост. А задачу мы можем созерцать на стенах одного из зданий Рыбной деревни.

BABANGIDA

Чтобы разбавить традиционный список главных загадок Калининграда, обратимся к персоне рэпера Бабангида, знаменитому и в то же время одному из самых скрытных исполнителей. И давайте договоримся на берегу — опустим оценку лирики и творчества, объектом нашего интереса в данном случае является загадочность его персоны. Что мы знаем о Babangida? Да в общем-то, кроме имени и фамилии, даты и места рождения — Калининграда, ничего. Почему он при этом нам интересен? Потому что, сохраняя свою анонимность, Александр Бакулин ярко засветился в андеграундной культуре: 8 раз был номинирован на Hip-Hop.Ru Awards (авторитетный интернет-ресурс на те времена) и 4 раза побеждал в номинациях, крутился с клипом на телеканале A-One, активно участвовал и побеждал в интернет-баттлах и стал участником одной из главных интриг в заочном противостоянии с рэпером Oxxxymiron. Те, кто считают за честь пожать исполнителю руку, мечтают выйти на след Бабангиды. Противник шоу-бизнеса любит играть в прятки, но кто знает, может, свой юбилей — 40 лет — он отметит на родных землях, и есть все основания полагать, что вы как-нибудь пересечётесь с ним взглядом, город-то небольшой.

ЭТО МОЖЕТ ПОНАДОБИТЬСЯ...

Click to order
Total: 
Ваше имя *
Ваш Email *
Ваш телефон *
Доставка *
Улица
заполняется только при выборе доставки в черте Калининграда
Дом
заполняется только при выборе доставки в черте Калининграда
Этаж
заполняется только при выборе доставки в черте Калининграда
Квартира
заполняется только при выборе доставки в черте Калининграда
Комментарий
заполняется только при выборе доставки в черте Калининграда
Промокод
Нажимая на кнопку "Оформить заказ" вы соглашаетесь с Политикой конфиденциальности и даете Согласие на обработку персональных данных.